Twitter et al

Published April 10, 2014 by Jackie

I find myself getting more and more addicted to Twitter. It’s fast becoming my favourite electronic medium for social networking, though I still much prefer the face-to-face kind. I love that it’s like texting 20 friends at once, and that you can respond to tweets quickly and amusingly in limited characters, make a quick comment to the local council or the bus operator, and follow the most random of people. I’ve won prizes, found out about movies, and have seen some gorgeous photos too, and reserved the last soup my lunch from the sandwich shop round the corner. 

And you know when someone says something, and ten minutes later, wish you’d said X as a reply? Well, on twitter, no-one knows it took 10 minutes to come up with that perfect reply.

At the moment, I follow around 280 people, and around 100 follow me. I think I know maybe two-thirds of that 100. 

I still mostly used Ravelry, of course. Sure, I search for patterns, add my own projects, along with copious notes ~ I can access my projects and pattern library from almost anywhere now, isn’t that wonderful that you can? At home, work, on the bus, on the train, in my brother’s home, in Starbucks, you name it…but lately I find myself only really interested in what’s going on with my own knitting group in the Forum. I met them all through Ravelry, and I think it will remain our most important method of communication with each other.  But you know what? Most of my knit-group friends are on Twitter too!

And yet I still resist Book of Face… yes I have an account, but it is under a pseudonym. I just don’t want people knowing my business. Yes, I admit I downloaded the App the other day, logged in, but I just don’t have a clue where to start, and I don’t have the inclination to find out either. Only choir might lure me in…

I’m a bit of a Luddite with new technologies for tv viewing too. I was forced to buy a new tv a few weeks ago ~ the one I went for has elements of interactivity about it, but apart from finding my wifi hot-spot signal when I set it up, I’ve not explored it at all, nor can I see myself doing so.  If I’m in, I watch what’s on, and if I’m not in, what does it matter. If I missed something good, and forgot to set it to record, there’s always iplayer or other online viewing, or again, it really doesn’t matter. Netflix? Nah… not a fan of the kind of boxed-set Season Two mini series that turns up there. I’d much rather watch a random documentary about London sewers (the underground type, not the Sewing Bee type!)

Wouldn’t it be a sad state of affairs if we all acted like clones?

Leave a Reply

