It’s not me!

Published May 27, 2014 by Jackie

This weekend I went to Birnam! Just a flying visit, arrived in time for lunch on Saturday, left at 5pm the next day. And what an excellent time I had there!

My friend Joan has just bought herself a static caravan there, in a very nice site called Erigmore. The fixed caravans and lodges are set in the lovely grounds of a large house up above Birnam village, no more than 20 minutes slow walk away. And although yes, they are definitely caravans, they bear little resemblence to the caravans I stayed in as a child, or the ones you get stuck behind on single track roads. I think this one was better appointed than my flat, and not much smaller than it, either!

I know how long it took to walk because we timed our second walk up the hill, after a fantastic night out at the Birnam Arts centre, to see the fabulous Mull Theatre Company’s take on Whisky Galore. (Well I cannot resist a wee bit o’ culture when it’s on the doorstep, can I?)

And the caravan was barely a couple of hundred yards from the historically renowned Birnam Oak. Here are some photos from our Sunday walk.

BirnamSycJ
The sign in front of this tree reads “It’s not me, I’m a Sycamore”. A bit further on then….

BirnamOakJ
The Birnam Oak

Finally, I impressed myself with this arty shot of some lichen on a broken branch.

LichenJ

Leave a Reply

