Opposite Ends!

Published June 10, 2014 by Jackie

Where have I been these last few days? Of course many of you actually know this information, but for those that don’t, I’ve been to Cornwall!

Not quite to Land’s End, but then again my last proper holiday took me to Shetland, which is way beyond John O’Groats, and then some, so I think I can be forgiven for that minor transgression, don’t you?

I’ve never been that far south and west in England before ~ my brother took me to Wells, through the Cheddar Gorge, and into the show-caves at Wookey Hole in the early 1990s. (I stopped myself there, I nearly typed ‘deep into the caves of Wookey’ there, but given that my much-missed brother was part of the team who held the record for the deepest exploration in the mid-1980s, I really didn’t go very far into them at all!)

But for the last 3 years, there has been a late spring holiday, organised by the lovely NixPJ (of IvyLightfoot fame) for our knit-group to join, and this was my first time to join in. Both Nix and Lainey were part of the Shetland contingent last year, and also Naomi, who had organised a weekend away in Jedburgh the year before.  It was great that Jane could join us, having been taken seriously ill shortly before Shetland, she brought her husband Chris with her, and the final member of the party was Lottie, an old friend of Nix from university days, who was great company!

Lovely accommodation, all you need really, the perfect location, close to the sea, tho not quite as close as I’d anticipated ~ probably just as well, given it’s the Atlantic coast we’re looking at! Quite a hike from the railway station, but we were picked up and dropped off (more later). Not far from Padstow, where Rick Stein owns almost everything, but not quite… And great company ~ the kind that doesn’t try to organise every minute of every day.

Lots of crafting, knitting, crochet, sewing. I started and finished the knitting of a wedding garter for a colleague ~ need to finish it off, I have measurements now! I started some denim Vivid squares too, and got started on two cowls as well. Oh, and some socks on the train journey down…

…hmmm the train journey… remind me never to do that journey again! Please, give me a stern talking to if necessary! Wasn’t the time, tho nine and a half hours is really far too long to spend on a train, nor the seat, as I was lucky enough to have one reserved.. but really, Cross-country trains, WHY do you sell more tickets than you have seats for? Even RyanAir don’t do that! So next time, I shall either split the journey and travel via London and Great Western, or fly…  But that’s by the by! I enjoyed the holiday immensely, and have recovered from the journey, so here are some pics to keep you amused.

 

the view from the garden (with apols for the shaky, grainy phone pic)

the view from the garden (with apols for the shaky, grainy phone pic)

more garden views, that's the Atlantic out there, don't you know? The flowering Yucca smelt amazing, like honeyed pink lilies, and was covered in bees, both honey and bumble

more garden views, that’s the Atlantic out there, don’t you know? The flowering Yucca smelt amazing, like honeyed pink lilies, and was covered in bees, both honey and bumble

an abundance of pink

an abundance of pink

the car matched the cottage parking space perfectly. Hedgerows were filled with Valerian in full bloom too

the car matched the cottage parking space perfectly. Hedgerows were filled with Valerian in full bloom too

Leave a Reply

