Something is missing….

Published September 23, 2014 by Jackie

I feel somewhat bereft today. It’s a Tuesday, and as usual I’ve lots of things to do on a Tuesday… There’s the usual daily grind at work, but also meeting choir friends before choir, going to choir, going to the Traverse after choir with choir friends. Great! (Tuesday is ALL about choir when choir is happening, can you tell?)

But something is missing…

I have no knitting with me! If you’re not a knitter, then you might understand if I say it’s like forgetting your mobile phone one day. What are you missing? Are folk trying to call or text or email or tweet? Surely I can manage a day without knitting? Well apparently not. I bet if you forgot your phone, you’d be thinking about it all day, is it viable to make a trip home for it?

But I’ve been trying to come in on Tuesdays without extra baggage, and know that I’m unlikely to find time for even a few rounds today. So no knitting… And it’s all I can think about!

I have a fifteen minute journey to work in the morning, and usually my bus comes along after another one heading into town, so I’m usually lucky enough to get a seat to myself, and squeeze in 10 to 15 minutes knitting time, just a couple of rounds is enough, sets me up for the day. Well not this morning…

Y’see, last night, I finally got a sweater I’ve been working on to the point where I could try it on. My maths had me convinced it would be enormous, but in fact the body is a perfect fit. But there was far too much going on around the neck (fyi it’s top down!)

Five pattern repeats for the yoke, when actually, four, with some tweaks after the first repeat, should make it lie much better. So I had to frog it back to the end of the first repeat and start off again! The second repeat is now about 2/3 complete, and I just want to get on with it.

What sweater is it? It’s fabulous one, is all I’ll say. Something different, original, and I’m pleased as punch with it. Inspiration from two patterns, but the modifications take it away from being specifically ONE pattern with inspiration from another.

And going back and reworking the yarn makes me appreciate that this is going to be really soft! I have to trust that it’s wool, so it won’t make me overheat (really it won’t, will it?) And it’s instead of a coat, not as well as a coat!

And realistically, do I even have enough yarn to finish it right now? Not sure I do… and I’m not sure that I can get any more for a while, because the yarn is from a finite, but thankfully renewable, source… I might have to wait until January for more.

But here’s the frustrating thing…. I WANT TO TRY TO FINISH IT FOR SHETLAND!

Y’know what? I’m asking the impossible of myself, as ever! It will be all the better for taking time to get it right! And y’know what else? I have a thousand other things I could be knitting that need some attention too! So I think maybe I should think about them for a wee while, and maybe just take the sweater to Shetland to knit, not try to wear it there!

And the day will pass, even if it is slowly… and I’ll be home in 12 hours to pick it up again, I’ll survive!

One comment on “Something is missing….

  • Leave a Reply

