Buttons

Published February 20, 2015 by Jackie

There’s one small problem with putting yourself on a cold-sheep regime for yarn-buying… there’s nothing delightful landing on the doormat to greet you when you get home from work.

I’m even trying to avoid buying patterns on Ravelry but it’s hard to keep to this… I stick them in my shopping cart, but I’ve given in on a couple of occasions already.

But there are ways around this self-inflicted ban, and so far this year I’ve bought some Chiaogoo needles from a Raveller (all monies going to charity, so of course, a justifiable purchase) and some yarn and bamboo needles for a communal work-knit project for a colleague’s expected baby (so very necessary! The yarn wasn’t bought online, but from a local store)

But there are always button purchases to delight on the doormat! Now I know that TextileGarden will be coming to the Edinburgh Yarn Festival next month, but last time, I couldn’t even get close to their stall. And I couldn’t find the perfect buttons in my button box for my Pretty lil’Chickadee, so I had a rummage through the TextileGarden website and found a few potential candidates, and one style in my stash that was close in shade but not quite right.

They arrived a couple of days ago, and last night I ran a length of yarn through them all, and slipped them through the Chickadee buttonholes.

PLC

They are all so cute, but I’ve decided to go with the bright turquoise button (bottom) as they are such a good match for the turquoise contrast colour.

What will I do with the others? Well I’ll just have to make some more baby cardigans! Mum-to-be has already told me they cook ’em big in her family, so I think I shall make the next size up and add those white bird buttons to a deeper blue Wee Chickadee.

Leave a Reply

