Are we nearly there yet?

Published March 13, 2015 by Jackie

It’s Friday (not quite 5 to 5, so no CrackerJack!) 13th (eek!) of March today, which means tomorrow is…..

EDINBURGH YARN FESTIVAL!!!

Im_Going_badge_medium

woohoo! and all that kind of stuff! I’m almost ready for my classes, of which there are three over the two-day festival (mostly to keep me out of yarn-buying trouble!)

For Nancy Marchant’s Basic Brioche first thing tomorrow, I have a ball of Cascade 220, and I might look out another ball I know I have somewhere. Looking out needles is tonight’s task.

For Tom of Holland’s class on Sunday, I’ve dug out my holey socks, the ones my trainers ate in Jedburgh in a single day! One sock has a very large hole, and the other you can see daylight through. That should be enough for a couple of techniques… reminder to me to find yarn to darn with.

And for Helene Magnusson’s Icelandic Steeking, I made a yarn dash to Mei’s Be Inspired shop in my lunch-hour for a couple of odd balls of contrasting Lett-Lopi. (Important knitters’ electronic gadgets and apps include the Lothian Bus-tracker app for maximum shopping time and minimal lunchbreak hassle)

Although not physically the closest yarn shop to me, Mei’s is much the easiest for me to get to from home ~ walk to bus-stop, wait for the 24, quick 15 min journey across town, then cross the road at the other end, voila! ~ so I think of it as my lovely Local Yarn Store! It’s full of lushness and covetable skeins, and amazing samples that are right up my street! She will be at the Yarn Festival, along with her MadeleineTosh skeins… sigh!

Sunday will be my main shopping day at the Yarn Festival, although I might make time to buy a sheepy mug from Ingrid at the Bon Papillon pop-up gallery on Saturday.

One of the times I’m most looking forward to is after class on Saturday evening, there’s a wonderful ca-baaa-ret planned for the evening, but some time before to simply chill and knit with friends. Quite a few Ravelry friends from distant locations will be there, as well as local friends, tho a lot of my local friends are volunteering at the event. I’m looking forward to seeing them all!

But what to take for casual knitting? It’s going to have to be my much-neglected-of-late Scollay, which is languishing in the bottom of a bag I’ve not used in a while. Maybe this will motivate me to finish it? It’s at the back-and-forth stocking stitch for 10 inches stage, and one row is just too long for my work journey at the moment. But what do I want for social knitting? something that I can just go back and forth and not think about, or make a mistake on, so ideal! Problem solved!

On Sunday, however, I’m planning to leave as if I was going to a 10am class again, and have a good mooch around the market. There are a few stalls I will definitely visit, and a few more I’ll look out for, I have a couple of ideas but I have no definitive shopping list, and a finite amount of cash in my purse to spend, having blown my £2 coin stash on a painting a few weeks ago!

here’s a picture of my picture, painted by my dear friend Lesley Skeates
hogweed

you can see more of her paintings on her website

oh and can I just add how very pleased I am that my toothache was last weekend and not this! (well you know what I mean, I’d rather not have had toothache at all, but at least it’s over and done with now and i’ve done with the ‘avoid alcohol at all costs’ antibiotics!)

Leave a Reply

